Wednesday, July 17, 2024
advertise your product or service on freshreporters

HomeSports NewsAsisat Oshoala Wins 6th Africa Women's Player Of The Year

Asisat Oshoala Wins 6th Africa Women’s Player Of The Year

Nigerian legend Asisat Oshoala has grabbed her record-breaking 6th (sixth) CAF Women’s Player of the Year award after leading Barcelona to Champions League victory.

The 29-year-old striker bested South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda to hold onto her crown at Monday’s ceremony in Marrakech. 

Oshoala was Barcelona’s top scorer last season, grabbing 27 goals in all competitions as the Spanish giants snagged a domestic double.

Her goals helped Barca keep their Primera Division title and beat Lyon to raise the Champions League trophy in Turin.

ALSO READ:  I Apologise For Not Converting My Penalty Into Goal - Super Falcons Forward Oparanozie Speaks On Team's Loss To England

And Oshoala, the first African to play in three World Cups, also etched her name in Spanish football history. She became the first woman to get the award for top scorer in the Spanish top flight after banging in 20 league goals.

This amazing season for soaring Barcelona saw Oshoala rule again on the continental stage, 11 months after her last win. The experienced striker now outshines fellow Nigerian Perpetua Nkwocha with six total wins, the most of any African ever.

ALSO READ:  First Lady, Oluremi Tinubu Hails Super Falcons, Says ‘We Gave England Run For Their Money’

She had won the award in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2022.

Oshoala’s goals have brightened women’s football in 2022 at both club and international levels over the past year. And her incredible consistency was rewarded with another individual prize, to sit proudly alongside five previous African Women’s Footballer of the Year titles…[CONTINUE READING HERE]>>

Below is the list of former Player of the Year winners::

2001 Mercy Akide (Nigeria)

2002 Alberta Sackey (Ghana)

2003 Adjoa Bayor (Ghana)

ALSO READ:  Chelsea Completes Record Transfer Deal for Moises Caicedo

2004 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2005 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2006 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2007 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2008 Noko Matlou (South Africa)

2009 Not awarded

2010 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2011 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2012 Genoveva Anonmam (Equatorial Guinea)

2013 Not awarded

2014 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2015 Gaëlle Enganamouit (Cameroon)

2016 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2017 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2018 Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

2019 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2020 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2021 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2022 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

For publication of your news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials, please send a mail to

Join Other Great Readers, FOLLOW us On WHATSAPP>>

Join Other Great Readers On TELEGRAM>>

For Advert and other info, Click this link to send a Message to the Admin

Join thousands of readers to receive daily Latest News: