Sunday, July 3, 2022

HomeSportsAFCON 2021: Mane, Aboubakar, Mendy win awards as Senegal beats Egypt 4-2

AFCON 2021: Mane, Aboubakar, Mendy win awards as Senegal beats Egypt 4-2

Cameroon captain, Vincent Aboubakar and Senegal stars, Sadio Mane and Edouard Mendy won awards following the conclusion of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON.

Senegal on Sunday defeated Egypt 4-2 on penalties to win the 2021 AFCON trophy in Cameroon.

ALSO READ:  NPFL: Makinde, Folarin, others celebrate as Shooting Stars return to League

The 2021 AFCON final match between Senegal and Egypt ended in a 0-0 draw after 120 minutes.

Mane scored the winning penalty against Egypt to ensure Senegal won their first AFCON.

Read also: JUST IN! Eguavoen Ready To Become Permanent Super Eagles Coach

AFCON: Recovering Mane set to return against E/Guinea

ALSO READ:  EPL: Guardiola reveals why Man City beat Man Utd 2-0

However, after the conclusion of the 2021 AFCON, Mane was named Player of the Tournament after leading the Teranga Lions to their first-ever AFCON title on Sunday.

Mendy won the best goalkeeper award as the Chelsea shot-stopper conceded only two goals during 2021 AFCON and blocked a penalty in the shootout against Egypt.

ALSO READ:  EPL: Klopp is responsible for Mane leaving Liverpool for Bayern Munich – Sinclair

Aboubakar, meanwhile, won the Golden Boot award after scoring a tally of 8 goals in the tournament.

For publication of your news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials, please send a mail to thefreshrepo [email protected]

For Advert and other info, you can send a WhatsApp Message to +2348084076066

How To Make Money On Freshreporters=>

Join thousands of readers to receive daily Latest News:


Most Viewed news

close button